top of page


New York Weightlifting State Organization

The New York WSO is a non for profit organization whose mission statement is:

To promote the growth and development of New York Weightlifting at a grassroots level abiding by the rules and governance of the New York Weightlifting State Organization and USA Weightlifting, Inc. The purpose shall be to educate, promote, conserve, sponsor, coordinate and stimulate the interest of weightlifting. The New York WSO has its origins dating back to the 1920's organizing the sport of weightlifting.


NYS Regions.png

New York State is organized into six geographic regions: Adirondack, Central, Hudson Valley, Long Island, New York City, and Western.

Adirondack Region

Counties: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Saratoga, Schoharie, Schenectady, St. Lawrence, Rensselaer, Warren, Washington.

Cities: Albany, Glens Falls, Plattsburgh, Schenectady, Troy.

Central Region

Counties: Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins.

Cities: Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, Oswego, Rome, Syracuse, Utica.

Hudson Valley Region

Counties: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester.

Cities: Yonkers, Mount Vernon, Middletown, Newburgh, Poughkeepsie, White Plains, New Rochelle.

Long Island Region

Counties: Nassau, Suffolk

New York City Region

Counties: Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island.

Western Region

Counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates.

Cities: Buffalo, Corning, Niagara Falls, Rochester.

bottom of page